Pattern review for McCalls – 6605

McCalls - 6605

It took a leap of faith to order this pattern as the styling of the photo on the front cover didn’t really appeal. The diagrams on the back cover offered promise and the reviews on sewdirect were all so positive that I thought I’d give it a go.  It’s fair to say I wasn’t disappointed as I’ve already made it three times with no alterations necessary. I made view D each time, though I added a full collar on two of the shirts. The finished garment has a lot of volume so I felt the waist ties were an important design feature. Having made the longer version I’m not tempted to make one of the other designs as they really would be pretty short.

McCalls-6605 shirtThe suggested fabrics were Georgette, Challis, Crepe de Chine, Cotton Voile. I made my first attempt in a light-weight cotton/silk mix covered in splodges (to hide the sticky fingerprints a toddler produces), the second in a cotton voile with a hummingbird print and the third in a green silk chiffon. Choosing sheer fabrics worked well with the full volume design though the silk chiffon was a little fiddly to work with.

McCalls - 6605

Shirt made with McCalls - 6605

3 thoughts on “Pattern review for McCalls – 6605

  1. Love what you’ve done with this pattern. I have just bought it, on a bit of a whim, and although I liked it I was worried it might look a bit frumpy. Your idea to make it longer but with short sleeves looks fab and the fabric choices look modern, so I’m definitely inspired.

    Did you give the seams any special treatment as it’s a sheer fabric? I’m thinking french seams, but not sure how that would work with the rest of the construction…

    1. As I seem to remember there aren’t the best instructions for finishing the seams included in the pattern. I used french seams for the side seams but not where the yoke meets the body as a figured all those ruffles would make for a very lumpy seam. I think I just used a zigzag stitch or something similar which seemed to work fine (although not particularly elegant). At the sleeve edges I did a very small double folded hem. Hope it works out well for you!

      1. Brilliant thanks so much for your reply! I was thinking side seams are easy to do french seams but I just couldn’t figure out how the french seam could be done on the yoke. I’ll probably do a rolled hem with the machine foot for the sleeves and bottom hem as I don’t trust my narrow stitching. Thanks so much for your advice!

Leave a Reply

