Special occasion dress

flower girl dress

I made this dress for H to wear at a wedding last summer but she loves it so much she’s always finding occasions to wear it. As those occasions often seem to involve colouring with felt tips or eating baked beans, I thought I’d better get round to photographing it before it was damaged irreparably.

The pattern was developed from a simple bodice block with the addition of a peter pan collar. The lower half of the dress is simply straight sections of material (to make use of the beautiful scalloped edge) gathered at the waist. The material (which I found in my local fabric shop Simply Fabrics) is a fine tulle with embroidered cotton motifs – which means I may try dyeing the dress if it ends up with stains. I lined it with cream cotton and added buttons at the back.

details of flower girl dress

Butterfly wingsButterfly wings and flower girl dress

Leave a Reply

