Toddler dungarees pattern

denim toddler dungarees

After making dungarees as part of the waterproof set in my previous post, I drew up the pattern properly and took step by step photos. The pattern is free to download for personal use (please get in touch if you do use it as I’d love to see what you make). It is probably the perfect size for a 2 year old, as I made it for my 15 month old  and even after trimming the trousers by an inch there was still room for a large turn up. The trouser pattern pieces will print out on multiple pieces A4 so will have to by taped together before using. There is no seam allowance on any of the pattern pieces. I used a fairly heavy denim with a cotton lining, but the pattern is probably better suited to a medium weight fabric  like the one I used previously.

dungarees

The steps below are fairly comprehensive but I added more top-stitching details on the trousers and at the waistband.

I used hemline heavyweight snaps for the fastenings, but buttons or bib buckles would work just as well.

BACKPOCKET

Toddler dungarees tutorial

Toddler dungarees tutorial

Toddler dungarees tutorial

Toddler dungarees tutorial

86 thoughts on “Toddler dungarees pattern

  1. Hi, I just wanted to finally share the photo of the final product with you, but I can’t seem to find how…

  2. Hi! I love this pattern – but I have a few questions. I see on the photos, it appears that there is some kind of gathering at the pocket area – I don’t see that on the instructions. Also, I noticed that you have mentioned – that the pattern does not show any seam allowance? Do we add the seam allowance? or is it just not shown in the pattern assuming that you would have a seam allowance. If so, what is the desired seam allowance?

    1. Hi Sandra. There is no gathering at the pocket – check the photos of the denim version not the version in waterproof fabric -its a bit of a temperamental fabric so where her hand is in the pocket it strains giving the puckered/gathered effect I guess youre referring too. The pattern does not have any included seam allowance so you will need to add it when cutting out. I usually add 1cm all the way round for kids patterns. There is no need to add more at the ankles as there is plenty of extra length allowed there. Some people with tall children have found they needed a slightly longer strap so be aware of that if you have a tall child. Good Luck!

    1. I actually never measured that out, but someone who recently made them said 1 yard was enough. Sorry not to be more specific, its a long time since I made these now!

Leave a Reply

