A jacket for April showers

rain coat using McCall's 6531

I wanted to make a lightweight showerproof jacket that didn’t look like camping gear. I used McCall’s 6531 for an unlined jacket and a waterproof fabric in a dark grey/pewter colour. There seemed little point making a rain coat without a hood so using the collar pattern piece as a guide I drafted a 3-piece hood instead. The batwing sleeves are a bit 80’s but actually the shape is pretty nice, particularly with the sleeves rolled up using the sleeve tabs. I will probably end up using the pattern again, however, that’s not to say it’s without flaws. For an unlined jacket (which is what I wanted) there are no directions on how to finish the inside seams which I found a bit disappointing. As I was following the pattern steps blindly I had already sewn it together when I realized this so when I decided that flat-felled seams would be best I ended up doing them on the inside – so there were 3 lines of stitching instead of 2. Having given myself further problems by adding an unlined hood I made some bias binding to create a bound hem at the neckline and a facing for the hood edge. The pattern also suggested a strip of seemingly unfinished facing to flap freely on the inside by the zip. As I imagine I will wear the jacket open a lot of the time I ditched this in favour of more bias binding to encase the zip. I also used cording instead of elastic at the waist and eyelets instead of the buttonholes suggested in the casing. M6531 Here’s the finished coat (well almost finished-there are no snaps on the pockets yet as I ran out and am waiting to get some more). Why didn’t I press it? Actually the creases in the photos are the ones the material acquired between the ironing board and the wall – I don’t what the material is but creases will definitely have to be an accepted part of the design.  rain coat using McCall's 6531back and details of raincoat made using McCall's 6531

7 thoughts on “A jacket for April showers

  1. This is awesome! I missed it earlier this year and saw it in your round-up post. You did a great job of making very practical and wearable garments for yourself this year!

    1. Making things that you’re actually going to use seems to be the hardest thing of all- and I definitely made a concerted effort to do that this year.

    1. Unfortunately I really don’t know what fabric it is. My local shop sells end of line and leftovers from the garment industry, which means good prices but you don’t always know the exact fabric makeup. It’s definitely some sort of waterproofed poly/nylon blend though.

Leave a Reply

