One pattern two ways

striped tunic dress

The first prototypes for a new pattern I’ve been drafting.  I’m really hoping to find time to make a downloadable pattern and tutorial for this one. The idea is for a simple shape that can be easily adapted for tunic or dress variations, with or without a collar. As the style is simple it’s also really quick to make. I tested the pattern with a dress in grey striped cotton shirting with contrasting buttons at the back.

UPDATE: This pattern is now available to download (free) here.

And a collared tunic version in a beautiful liberty lawn for S to wear to my friend’s wedding. I don’t actually find dresses that practical for toddlers as they always seem to bunch up round the waist when you pick them up or get caught up when they’re trying to scale some piece of furniture or other. This tunic with matching bloomers seemed a happy compromise.

toddler tunic in liberty print

collared toddler tunic in liberty print back view

I’m pretty happy with how the style turned out, so now I just need to get round to drawing the pattern up properly…IMG_0669

The bloomers were made using a simple two piece short construction with elastic at the waist and legs, and proved perfect for climbing gates.

IMG_0763

16 thoughts on “One pattern two ways

  1. Hi Toya,
    I found your blog while searching for “toddler harem pants”. Thank you for the harem pants pattern! I’m plan on making them for my own 15 month old daughter and as a birthday present to my friend’s 12 month old. The bonnets and this dress are adorable as well!

    1. I only have it as a few bits of newspaper in a folder at the moment, and haven’t seemed to have found the time for drawing it up properly – sorry. I’ll let you know if I do. Congratulations!

      1. Thanks! What size are you looking for? I’m not yet that experienced at grading. But I’m hoping to finish off a couple of sizes soon.

  2. I would love to test it for you too and use a draft. It is precious! I am currently sewing mostly 18 month things for granddaughter. She is 15 months now and wearing 18 month sizes.

    1. I have actually drawn up this pattern now in two sizes, approx 18mths-2yrs and 2-3yrs. I’ll be trying to get the tutorial/instructions done in the next week or two, so will let you know when I do…

  3. I’d love a copy of this pattern too, my little girl is currently 15 months old. It is so sweet with the matching bloomers!

Leave a Reply

