An autumn smock

home sewn toddler smock dress in grey cotton with contrast buttons

A little grey cotton smock dress with big pockets, lots of volume and contrast buttons dreamt up for S. With autumn upon us and S having grown out of nearly all her clothes I started sketching some ideas. Repeated blog posts make my love of dungarees/rompers/jumpsuits fairly obvious but with her 2nd birthday approaching I’ve got half an eye on potty training so smock dresses, tunics and separates seem like a more sensible choice at the moment. I really liked the idea of deep pockets that went all the way round the side panel, and S seems to like them too, but I imagine I’ll be cursing myself every time I forget to empty the tissue/half-eaten biscuit/conker out before I put it through the wash.

tunicsketch

The original design looked good on paper but was just too wide and didn’t hang right so I re-drafted the pattern with a more classic sleeve construction and it worked out fine.

home sewn toddler smock dress in grey cotton with contrast buttons

I imagined it styled like this: with a little infinity scarf/snood made from material left over from H’s jumpsuit, bright tights and turned up sleeves.

home sewn toddler smock dress in grey cotton with contrast buttons

S did not share this vision. She looked at my scarf like it was the devil’s work and put on a pair of red crocs. Oh well, a delighted H snatched the scarf for herself and S pottered out into the garden happily, looking for sticks/stones/anything dirty to stash in her pockets.

home sewn toddler smock dress in grey cotton with contrast buttons

12 thoughts on “An autumn smock

    1. Thanks – if only there were more hours in the day, and then I could find the time to draw up patterns properly.

      I hope the dungarees work out – just remember to add seam allowance – and do send me a picture when they’re finished.

  1. Gahhh another one I love! Are you able to send me the pattern, or sell me it? So in love! You are very talented. x

Leave a Reply

