Lightning bolt and coral sweatshirts

handmade kid's coral sweatshirt In my endeavour to make only mostly practical and useful clothing I drafted a trial pattern for some everyday sweatshirts for the colder months. As I intended the design to have a dropped shoulder I started off with some very simple shapes, and then to add some detail altered the hem to create a gently curved dip which is accentuated/mimicked by curving the side seams towards the front.sweatshirt pattern pieces

My first attempt was cut out of some coral sweatshirting picked up in a fabric sale in town. I still feel like a novice when it comes to working with knits, so each project is a little experimental – trying out different methods to get the best results. Sweatshirting and french terry seem like a fairly easy way in to working with knits as they are far more stable, which my machine (and I) seem to find easier. As a result, they are also less stretchy which posed a problem when it came to the neckline. S has a particularly large head which meant that there was no way I was going to get away with not having some kind of extra opening round the neck. For my first attempt I added a keyhole opening at the back of the neck and used a thin strip of fabric to bind the opening and the neckline. The keyhole opening is fastened with a popper. The solution broadly worked and the finished article went over her head comfortably but felt a little bulky and didn’t sit particularly flat even after pressing. Also, to my alarm the pattern pieces that I’d cut aiming for a generous fit turned out to be fairly snug with not much growing room.

coral toddler sweatshirt with dropped shoulder and curved hemhandmade kid's coral sweatshirt front

The monochrome leggings in these photos were made with a cozy knit fabric similar to ponte weight. I made a second more muted pair using the reverse of the fabric. Since purchasing my overlocker last year making leggings has gone from a battle that didn’t seem worth the effort to a satisfying half hour project.

leggings fabric

For the second version of the top I increased the size of the pattern and tried to make an improved neck opening. This time I created a closure along one of the shoulder seams and used snaps to fasten. Again I struggled with the bulk at the bound edges by the opening, and whilst it looks fine on the hanger this method sits even less flat on S -grrrrr (any ideas on how I could have done it better gratefully received). Still, on a more positive note, I doubt anyone will be looking at the slightly curvy shoulder seam of a top that is covered with gold lightning bolts.

The fabric is loop backed 100% cotton terry in dark grey bought on ebay. I stencilled the design on in gold Setacolor fabric using my usual method (paint sponged on over a stencil made from a sheet of acetate/OHP film).DIY lightning bolt printed toddler sweatshirtDIY hand stencilled lightning bolt kid's sweatshirtDIY hand stencilled lightning bolt kid's sweatshirt

 

4 thoughts on “Lightning bolt and coral sweatshirts

Leave a Reply

