Classic stripes with a twist

twisted tank child's mismatched striped tee 

A classic spring outfit with a twist. Made for H as part of the Twisted Tuesdays pattern tour organised by Laura at Craftstorming to showcase her Twisted Tank and Twisted Trousers patterns. Both patterns offer plenty of opportunity for playing with colour combinations and clashes as showcased by Laura’s amazing watermelon version, but I knew that I wanted (and H would prefer) to keep my versions fairly subtle.

First up is the Twisted Tank. I knew straight way that I wanted to try making a ubiquitous striped t-shirt with a difference.

I cut a size 3 and lengthened to a size 7 sourcing blue and white jersey with stripes of the same size. Pinning and sewing the diagonal lines to make sure the stripes (mis)matched up was a little fiddly but they turned out pretty well even if the pocket ended up slightly wobbly. twisted stripes

twisted tank with mismatched stripes

For the Twisted Trousers I chose a navy cotton twill with dark navy ribbing at the waistband ( H is overjoyed with how comfortable these trousers are) and matching satin piping to accentuate the twist of the legs. As I wanted to make sure the trousers were a slim fit I cut size 3 in width and lengthened to size 8. The adjustment was a little fiddly because of the diagonals (and particularly for such a large difference between width and length) but I followed the instructions (and added a little extra tapering to the leg) and they turned out fine.

twisted trousers using titchy threads pattern

Twisted tank with mismatched stripes and twisted trousers

To finish off the outfit I made a fleece-lined hooded sweatshirt using the Rowan Tee pattern as my starting point.  The Rowan tee is a slim fit design made for jerseys so as the yellow sweatshirting didn’t have much stretch and I wanted there to be room for an inner layer of white cuddle fleece I cut a much bigger size and added some extra width to the arms. I also cut down the front centre panel to make room for a zip and re-drafted the hood to make it into a two-piece design.

 

H’s approval was made obvious by the fact she snatched them off the sewing table to wear before the threads were cut or the hems pressed. I made these a couple of weeks ago, before the Easter holidays, and they have since seen a lot of wear – tree climbing, bike riding, trampoline bouncing, den building, etc. etc.. These patterns are definitely designed with how children look in mind, but far more importantly they are designed with what children like to do in mind too.

Home sewn children's wear - classic stripes with a twist

Twisted Tuesdays Tour Button

18 thoughts on “Classic stripes with a twist

  1. Great Toya! the mismatching lines are fantastic and give a great optical illusion. I Like also the simplicity of the trousers, because the match with the yellow hodded Rowan tee, the whole outfit rocks! did you dye that fabric?

  2. Yes – well spotted! I couldn’t find yellow cotton sweatshirting anywhere (that wasn’t really expensive) and I really wanted that colour.

  3. A perfect outfit Toya. I am always jealous of people who can match stripes and more jealous that you can mismatch stripes. Oooh! Yellow hoodie. Great colour.

    But what about the little grey waistcoat. WANT!!!!!

  4. Ah I love that little grey moleskin waistcoat modelled by the little photobomber. It’s seen a lot of wear since I made it for H 4+ years ago.

  5. This is such an amazing outfit Toya! I love the mismatching of the stripes and the fit of everything looks so good. The jacket is fantastic too and looks so cosy. Also, I agree with Olu about the little waistband, so cute!

    Thanks so much for joining the tour!

  6. I love the striped tank so much! I like a more subtle look too and was thinking of making it in one solid. but maybe that would be too subtle? I don’t know.. anyway, love the tank. love the trousers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

