Elephant dungarees

Child's short dungarees/overalls
These summer dungarees fulfil a promise I made about 18 months or so ago when I made S two pairs with the toddler dungaree pattern. H has been asking for her own short version ever since, and after I missed a window last summer I finally got round to them. As usual there were some fairly exacting specifications – dungaree clips, a bib pocket and knee length shorts, most of which I was fairly happy to oblige ( although I did have a less traditional version pinned that I was slightly more keen to make). To make the pattern I redrafted the top part from the toddler dungarees pattern and added them to shorts made with a hacked version of the Jagger Jeans pattern. As they are a slim fit design I made a much bigger size (size 7 instead of the 3 I used for the jeans), sewed up the fly but kept the top stitching detail and added plackets with silver buttons on the sides at the waist. The bib, back, straps and waistband are all lined with a yellow elephant print cotton lawn.  dungaree details The lemon yellow top-stitching thread that H had picked out turned out to be slightly thicker/rougher than usual and caused me a great deal of grief. There were a lot of chewing, clunking sounds coming from the machine, and a lot worse from me. There are places where I had to give up entirely and use ordinary thread.  Child's short dungarees/overalls The coordinating top is made with the same cotton lawn. The pattern is my first make from the beautiful Japanese pattern book – Everyday Clothes for Girls (I found the details about it here). The book has not been translated, but luckily thanks to some letters as symbols to find the patterns and comprehensive illustrations I think I’ll be able to make my way through it. The book is packed with lovely designs and H picked out the most simple. I made an age 4, lengthening to age 8 based on her measurements but when it was finished it just looked a bit to broad across the shoulders for her slight frame. Rather than abandon it, or unpick and remake, I went for the quick fix option and made a makeshift inverted box pleat on the front of the neckline. It now sits much better on her (albeit slightly unsymmetrically). elephant print top elephant print top detail Child's short dungarees/overalls

10 thoughts on “Elephant dungarees

  1. I love that elephant fabric. What fun. I too have had quite a problem with top stitching threads and end up doing the top stitching by hand, or using a lighter weight thread.

    1. I have since had a run in with top stitching thread while making jeans so have bought upholstery thread for my next project – hopefully that will be a happy medium!

  2. I was just admiring your topstitching, then read that you had trouble with it 😦 Well I’m not rushing out to buy some topstitching thread now!
    I really like the button plackets you added – something I should have added to my daughter’s dungarees.
    The elephant top is also really cute – I like the addition of the box pleat. What an adorable outfit!

    1. I procrastinated over the button plackets quite a lot – for a slim child they really don’t seem to serve much purpose, but thought they made a nice detail anyway.

  3. Only just got rounyo to reading this. As usual, I love it. Both the dungarees and the blouse.

    I think kids look great in dungareese. Especially classic denim ones.

    Nice to hear you used the Jagger Jeans.

Leave a Reply

