Liberty print blouse and bubble shorts

floral liberty print girls blouse and bubble shorts from everyday clothes for giirls

A set of summery loveliness for S made with patterns from Japanese pattern book “Everyday Clothes for Girls”.

IMG_0030

floral liberty print girls blouse

The blouse pattern was the design that made me want to buy the book, and I wasn’t disappointed. It is up there with my all-time favourite patterns and well worthy of the luxury of Liberty print. In my eyes, the shape of the shirt is perfect with the slight curve of the yoke, gathers beneath, peter pan collar and bias binding trim to the slightly puffed sleeves. I will definitely be making more, probably lots. Whilst the instructions in the book are in Japanese, the sizing charts, page numbers and keys for finding the patterns are not, so combined with the universal language of illustration (the illustrations in this book are very clear – hooray for illustration!) and a bit of sewing knowledge I didn’t come across many problems making the garments.

Denim bubble shorts from everyday  clothes for girls

To go with the shirt, I used another pattern from the book to make a pair of denim bubble shorts. A satisfyingly quick make (although I did get confused with one step and ended up with the lining stuck on the outside of the shorts for a while), and again, I love the design which is perfect for a girl of S’s age. As pretty as a skirt but far more practical when your most common position is squatting. Great for summer, they will also see her through the autumn/winter months worn over tights, so I can imagine making this design again too. In fact, I’m not imagining it, I already have.

 

11 thoughts on “Liberty print blouse and bubble shorts

  1. The blouse is super nice and S looks so sweet in this outfit. I have got a crush on puff sleeves at the moment and am very keen to do a dress or blouse for myself where they feature – probably with a cuff rather than elastic.

  2. I love that American stitchers have finally discovered Liberty fabrics — I remember trying to sell them in the late 80’s and no one was interested. Darling outfit!!

    1. Ahead of the times! They are such good quality and beautiful patterns, I have a couple of shirts made in Liberty too, and I always love wearing them.

  3. Pingback: Flamingo shirts |

Leave a Reply

