New baby gift for Ruby

Home sewn new baby outfit I made this little outfit as a present for my friend’s new baby. She already has an older son so has plenty of the basic practical that babies need so I decided to make something pretty but hopefully still practical(ish) for a summer girl. I took inspiration from some of the beautiful baby clothes sold by Caramel Baby & Child and drafted some simple patterns to achieve a similar look. Simple swiss dot top with flutter sleeves for baby   Simple swiss dot top with flutter sleeves for baby DSC_1274   The top is a simple A-line tunic with flutter sleeves made from swiss dot cotton and fully lined with cotton lawn. I used poppers at the back as I thought they would be easier to fasten, and as the automatic buttonhole function on my machine packed up a few months ago, I’m always keen to avoid buttonholes where possible. As I have forgotten the size of newborns and have no baby clothes left in the house to copy I took my measurements for the pattern from Aldrich’s ‘Metric Pattern Cutting for Children’s Wear and Babywear’. Floral harem pants for baby       The trousers are pretty much a straight copy of the ones I saw on the Caramel site, complete with an entirely functionless but rather sweet pocket detail on the side. They are made with a drapey lightweight viscose print so will hopefully offer coverage from the sun without being too warm. Welcome to the world Ruby.

5 thoughts on “New baby gift for Ruby

Leave a Reply

