Fold 2 | The Petal fold playsuit

pink petal fold playsuit

This summer I’ve been helping to test the new collection of children’s wear patterns from Madeit Patterns. I agreed to test only the garments that the girls and I liked and/or needed in their wardrobes, but that turned out to be most of the collection. I also promised to keep the designs under wraps. Until now…

The new collection Fold|2 is being launched with an online fashion week hosted by Needle and Ted, which gives me the opportunity to share some of the things I’ve been making. First up, and probably my favourite pattern of the bunch, is the Petal Fold Playsuit.
pink petal fold playsuit from madeit patterns back viewMy love of rompers/playsuits/jumpsuits/whatever it is they’re called is well documented in this blog, and this one is no exception – all the glamour/fun of a dress plus the ability to cartwheel, climb trees and stand on your head modestly. The playsuit features a pleated contrast panel at the front, pockets with contrast piping, pleated culottes and an invisible zipper at the back. (It is also available as separates). I made it using a neon pink cotton and some very finely striped, blue and white, heavy cotton shirting. I graded between a size 4 in width and an 8 in length.

The pleated panel at the front requires a bit of patience with an iron but is satisfyingly straightforward. If you do fancy making one, my tip would be to use 2 rows of masking tape with a slight gap between to mark the centre rather than chalk as it holds all the pleats in place without the need for so many pins.
pink petal fold playsuit from made it patterns

H loved the playsuit so much I made a second version straight away, this time omitting the pleated panel and adding a section of contrast fabric instead. The fabrics used were a lightweight denim and a sheer fabric embroidered with yellow flowers and underlined with cotton.yellow petalfold playsuit from madeit patternsyellow petalfold playsuit back view

If you haven’t guessed already, the Fold|2 collection was partially inspired by origami, so they’ll be a fair bit of it cropping up during the week. For showcasing the Petal Fold Playsuit it seemed only right to use origami flowers, so H and I made pink water lilies and a bunch of yellow irises to use in the photos.


To celebrate Madeit Fashion Week and the launch of the Fold 2 collection there will be 20% of all the new patterns this week if you use the code MFW20.

20-off

There are some pattern and fabric giveaways up for grabs during the week, just head over to Needle and Ted for details on how to enter.

I’ll be showcasing some more things I’ve made from the Fold 2 collection this week, but there are also loads more talented participants taking part. Check them out below.

Monday 31 August

Kid Approved
Girl Like the Sea
Huisje Boompje Boefjes
Our Chez Nous

Tuesday 1 September

Kimme Sew Crazy
Pienkel
East and Eden
Chi Chi Romeo and Me

Wednesday 2 September

Neil and Nikki
In a manner of Sewing
Creative Needles and Threads
As it Seams

Thursday 3 September

Climbing the Willow
Fliegfederfrei
Fairies and Bubbles Co
Sew Thrifty

Friday 4 September

Just Add Fabric
So-Cal Sewing Mom
Sansahash
Miss Castelinhos
Sewing Sober

Saturday 5 September

Made by Toya
My Cosy Co
Paisley Roots
Diorella
Fruits de Mère

Sunday 6 September

Round Up and Reviews:
Needle and Ted
Climbing the Willow
Swoodson says

20 thoughts on “Fold 2 | The Petal fold playsuit

  1. hi toya, such a beautiful fabric combination! i like especially the first one. it looks gorgeous on your girl. such a dreamy photoshoot. the water lilies look like real!

  2. A really good tip to use tape rather than pins. I’ll remember that. I still need to make one of these for both my daughters.
    Your pictures are so beautiful with the lilies and H in the water. I can just imagine S in her Tinkerbell outfit in there too.

    Your origami skills are beyond impressive. I can’t wait to read your post tomorrow.

  3. I love it Toya! I just crazy about the first version. The colours are so good together and that bright pink really suits your daughter skin. The origami is crazy!!! what I’m going to do? I’m totally intimidated with all the awesome things everyone is doing!

    1. Take inspiration but not intimidation. Do what makes you happy and it will be great (as always). Everyone shares ideas but each style is unique (and I know that I often find inspiration in yours!)

Leave a Reply

