‘Tis the season for rain and frost : Holiday Debut Blog Tour and giveaway

DSC_3659

The Holiday Debut Blog Tour celebrates the end of their debut year for three new designers: Saskia Smith of The Wolf and the Tree, Gabriela Longfish of Chalk and Notch, and Holli Coats of Hello Holli, and it meant I got hold of 3 patterns to use: the Blue Ridge Dress, Abby’s Footed Tights and the FIshtail Kimono, all of which I liked the look of. Holiday Debut Tour-Blogger Logo-72

As it’s definitely cold and wet weather season here in London I knew immediately I wanted to add sleeves to the dress. To do this I had to widen the bodice at the shoulder and draft a sleeve. For S’s dress I chose to make a bishop?? sleeve, at least I think that’s what it’s called – fitted neatly into the armscye at the top and a bit billowy and gathered at the cuff. I felt this design would work well with the shape of the distinctively curved bodice. The fabric is a lovely soft double gauze with raindrop print that S had spotted and loved. raindrop print longsleeved blueridge dressKeeping with the seasonal weather theme I used fabric paint to stencil little clouds onto mustard yellow viscose jersey for the tights. There is process shot of the stencilled on my instagram feed.  I cut the stencil from acetate and sponged over white fabric paint. The drops of rain/snow were added with a brush afterwards. I really like how they turned out – although despite making the size 2 for my 3 yr old they are still a little large, but I guess the size varies greatly depending on the stretch of the fabric used, and this jersey is very stretchy.

Abby's footed tights with hand stencilled cloud printH requested short sleeves and a longer bodice for her version so I adapted an age 5 bodice – widening the shoulders in the same way as before but this time drafting a short puffed sleeve. After cutting out the bodice pieces I applied a lightweight interfacing to the back and embroidered a freestyle frost/snowflake design onto the fabric. I used 3 slightly different tones of thread that were all quite similar to the blue grey shirting fabric beneath. (The fabric is from Drygoods Design, Seattle) I don’t really know much about embroidery so I don’t know what the stitches I used are called except that they are big stitches so that it didn’t take too long. The design of the embroidery was inspired by an image I found on this danish site  and the pattern in the frosted glass on the door of our house.
embroidery

When the embroidery was finished and I realised just how subtle it was I decided to keep everything else on the dress very simple, opting not to add piping or binding and changing the back closure to an invisible zip. I was really pleased with my invisible zip until I noticed the puckering on these photos. Still another press with a steam iron may minimise it.embroidered bodice
girl's dress with hand embroidered bodice
Hand embroidered bodice on blue ridge dress
Hand embroidered bodice on blue ridge dress
I made a fishtail kimono too, but in secret as I’m intending to give it to S for christmas along with a matching pyjama set. Its pink and patterned so at the moment that means it’s bound to prove a hit. The fabric is a soft cotton terry from The Sweet Mercerie.
fishtail kimono in pink french terry

Now to the giveaway: There are over $300 worth of prizes being offered to one lucky winner, all generously donated by the sponsors below. Make sure you check out the posts throughout the tour to enter the giveaway via rafflecopter. The winner will be chosen at random and announced at the end of the tour.

You can enter via the link below.
a Rafflecopter giveawayHoliday Debut Tour-Sponsor Logo-72

21 thoughts on “‘Tis the season for rain and frost : Holiday Debut Blog Tour and giveaway

  1. Toya!! Hand embroidery bodice and hand printed tights…just WOW!! Thank you for joining our tour. I’m off to buy that swan fabric too!! XO

  2. As usual, I love everything. I can’t even pick a favorite item because I love them all — a “problem” I have every time I visit your blog and look through your posts. 🙂 Also, your embroidery work is beautiful!

  3. WOW! I’m so impressed with both of these outfits! The rain outfit is so adorable! How did you make the time for all that embroidery? It’s amazing!

    1. Thanks – always a relief when they like what you make them! And as to the tights it would we bad not to want them, unfortunately I just don’t think they’d look that cute on me.

Leave a Reply

