Harry Potter and the Christmas pyjamas

Harry Potter dressing gown diyNot so much Christmas pyjamas as pyjamas made and gifted at Christmas ( I have yet to find a Christmas novelty print that has won me over!). My eldest daughter got well and truly hooked on the Harry Potter series this year after a generous friend gave her the box set. Much as I love an excuse to make a costume I wanted to make something that would get a bit more wear so decided on a pyjama set with cosy cloak/dressing gown.

homemade Harry Potter Hogwarts pyjamas

I used a free raglan t-shirt pattern from Naptime Creations for the top cutting out the pieces first and then, before assembly, I painted the Hogwarts logo onthe front panel. To make this an easier job I printed out the logo and put it underneath the white cotton jersey on a light box (windows work well too) so I could trace over the design using a black fabric pen. hogwarts logo fabric painting Once the outline was finished I coloured in the design using fabric paints. 
hand painted hogwarts logo The pyjama bottoms were self-drafted and made from super-soft maroon cotton velour with black ribbing contrast waistband/pockets.

diy harry potter pyjamas

I freehand cut the very simple shapes for the cloak/gown using the same velour as a lining and a black cotton sweat-shirting for the outer layer. (All fabrics were bought in Simply Fabrics, Brixton) I bought the Gryffindor crest for the cloak on eBay and the frog fastener at Simply Fabrics.homemade Harry Potter Hogwarts cloak dressing gownAs expected H was delighted with her gift and is now coming up with increasingly imaginative reasons not to get dressed.
Harry Potter dressing gown diy

The next challenge was how I could make my younger daughter something similar that she would like as much. I fell back on the pink, patterned and glittery route, which, much to my irritation appeals to my 3 year old as voraciously as mainstream convention would lead you to expect. I used the Fishtail Kimono pattern by Chalk and Notch for the gown and patterned sweat-shirting from The Sweet Mercerie.fishtail kimono in pink french terry

For the rest of the pyjama set I made a white long sleeve t-shirt using the Rowan Tee pattern adding a glittery heart motif using iron-on vinyl (also bought from eBay). The harem pant style sweatpants made in the same pink sweat-shirting were also self-drafted/freehand cut.Home made pink christmas pyjama setChristmas pyjamas diy

Both girls also received a pair of slippers because they had none, and if the thought of their little toes getting cold wasn’t motivation another, the daily awakening by said cold toes getting into my bed definitely was. I drafted the pattern with bits of paper first and then made them up using a beautiful boiled wool from Fabrics Galore lined with fleece and scraps of leather for the soles. I may yet make a pair for myself and share the pattern.slippers3diy fleece lined slipper boots

11 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Christmas pyjamas

  1. I probably sound like a broken record, but seriously I love everything! I know you are not a fan of pink or glittery, but I do especially love your younger daughter’s pyjama set. What can I say — I’m a 3-year-old at heart?? lol. And those self-drafted slippers are amazing!!

  2. The hand painted logo is so perfect, what lucky girls 🙂 I’m still swooning over the beautiful swan fabric, it pairs so perfectly with the kimono and as a pj set!! XO

  3. So cool! What a great idea to make a pyjama, love the painted crest too! Very inspirational, thank you. I just made a Hermione outfit for my 6y old, she wears it anywhere, anytime, even to judo practice :/

  4. As ever your projects blow my mind. The work itself is so beautiful and ambitious & perfectly crafted, but also I love the creative graft you put in. In spite of mass production all around trying to lure you, it’s like a big fingers-up to generic, the sweat-shop tat the rest of us fall foul of.

    1. Thanks Hannah – I was fairly pleased this year to have managed to make all my gifts or buy them second hand with the exception (ironically enough) of an alternative energy electrical kit! But don’t be fooled – put me in a fabric shop and I turn into a frenzied consumer!

Leave a Reply

