Springtime smocks and newborn sleepgowns

Self drafted smocks back viewPlenty of sewing has gone on this Kids Clothes Week but not much documenting so I’m getting a round-up post in. Newborn sleep gowns from free patternFirst up these newborn sleep gowns for some of the 2016 babies – there seem to be lots – not mine, just good friends and family.Newborn sleep gowns from free patternI wanted to make some practical newborn gifts and thought sleepgowns might fit the bill. I found a free pattern by Rachel at her beautiful site (full of lots of inspiration and amazing photographs) at Stitched Together. new born sleep gowns using free patternShe states that the pattern is for 0-3 months. I printed and made it at 90% as two of the suits are for twins who I guessed would be small and the other is for a newborn. It’s a lovely pattern and a quick sew (although by not following the instructions I managed to get the neckline the wrong way round on my first attempt). The cotton jersey I used was really lovely quality – thick, soft and easy to sew, I think they are both Robert Kaufman prints and were bought in Portland last year. Contrast ribbing found at the back of the cupboard, source unknown.

Self drafted smocks with pocketsNext up are some smocks for the girls which I intended to fit to the theme of Kid’s Clothes Week by showing how useful those extra large pockets are for stashing toys. I didn’t, but they since have, S last seen dashing out the door with a doll in each pocket. The pattern is self drafted and an attempt to grade up from the autumn smock I made for S a year and a half ago. Salmon pink home sewn smockS’s dress is made from medium weight cotton shirting dyed with a mixture of colours. The front bodice on this version ended up being a bit larger than I intended. Also unintended but with a happy outcome the slight variation in fabric colour caused by diy dyeing. Self drafted blue smock dress with pocketsH’s dress is made from a much drapier blue viscose. Because of the drape and the extra length the pockets ended up lower than they should be – I still have lots to learn when it comes to resizing my own patterns.

Self drafted smocksBoth dresses have lined bodices with contrast button closures at the back. They also both have french seams in the sleeves so they can be worn rolled up or full length. There’s still work to do on this pattern so I’m sure they’ll be more to come.

smockback

 

3 thoughts on “Springtime smocks and newborn sleepgowns

  1. Oh wow I love those newborn sleep sacks. I had a couple (shop bought) for my youngest and they were amazing. And those smocks look so comfy and easy to wear!

  2. Pingback: Two Cute x2 |

Leave a Reply

