Two Cute x2

DSC_4967

Back in January I made my friend some clothes for her newborn twins. At the time I wanted something very practical so made some jersey co-ordinates. Now they’re a little bigger I wanted to make some fun little rompers in a design that I’ve been working on.romper.jpeg

As the weather is not yet warm here but showing signs of promise I used some super-soft Robert Kaufman cotton flannels. The design is for dungaree romper suits that could be worn over tights and blouses or without when the weather gets hotter. self drafted baby romper pattern

It features a bib at the front with cross over straps and buttons on the back. The bottom half has plenty of volume but is gathered in with elastic at the legs.hand made baby romper sewing details

I also added poppers at the crotch to make nappy changing easier (no one needs that to be harder  when they’ve got twins!). Overall I’m very happy with how the style has worked out although the sizing might need a little tweaking.baby romper sewing details

Now to the x2 bit. Well in news that I’m still regularly squealing in delight, inter-dispersed with weeping with joy about, my brother and his wife welcomed their identical twin girls into the world last week!!!

I had sent a couple of tiny sized newborn sleepsuits to them before the birth so have made this co-ordinating set up for them when they are a little bigger.monochrome new baby twins romper and bloomers setOne outfit was made using the same self-drafted romper pattern using some striped linen found in a remnants basket.DSC_5010

The second outfit is a set of bloomers from the same linen fabric and a white swiss dot cotton tunic made using the free little Geranium dress pattern from Made by Rae.hand made new baby bloomers and geranium tunic set

Eeeek!! Twin nieces!!

11 thoughts on “Two Cute x2

  1. Love the rompers for the baby – hope you get the pattern out soon – love it combined with the dress topper. I also thought the one with a ruffled back side is adorable. I really enjoy making children clothes -mostly for a shelter or someone i need, but am hoping for a new granddaughter /son in a couple weeks.
    Little girls are so much more fun to sew or knit for!

  2. Love love love these! I think my little 2 year old can get away with wearing something like this still… they are adorable. I think I’ll try something similar for summer! Thank you for the inspiration!

  3. You take sewing to a whole new level of enjoyment when sewing for twins. These outfits are so, so cute. And I particularly love how you co ordinated rather than matched the second outfit.

Leave a Reply

