Cullottes and the dress that became an apron

DSC_5487

First up, the dress that became an apron. And not just any apron, probably the nicest apron I’ll ever have, which is a pretty good claim for the end product of an unsuccessful project.The dress that it was meant to be was the pinafore dress, view C2 from the Roberts Collection by Marilla Walker. I loved the look of the pattern, but as it turned out, not on me. The generous ease of the style combined with a poor fabric choice made for a rather boxy and unflattering dress. The fabric in question was a stiff grey cotton drill. I will probably try the style again in a wiser choice of fabric sometime, something with a bit more drape like a linen mix. DSC_5527In the meantime, I wanted to save my project and turning an apron dress into an actual apron was a natural choice. I’d had it in mind to make one anyway for using at work, but had never quite find the motivation to start.DSC_5520

To alter the dress I sewed the neck strap into place on the bib looping round the back of the neck. I then cut up the centre back of the dress, trimming each edge by an inch or so, hemming, changing the shape of the facings at the top and adding ties at the waist.DSC_5483

Next up some cullottes or whatever it is they’re called. I used a free pattern from Secondo Piano  and cut a straight size 10 making them up without a muslin. I had to take them in a little bit at the waist but other than that the fit was pretty perfect.DSC_5452

I made a few other changes to the pattern: changing the direction on the front pleats, making without lining, and cutting off about 4 inches in length. I’m aware that the longer length may well be considered more fashionable at the moment but found just below knee length more practical/flattering for me.DSC_5426

For a free pattern I found it beautifully drafted. The pocket facings join at the front seam adding structure to the front behind the pleats, which is definitely a construction detail I’ll be adding to other projects.DSC_5521

The shirt in the pictures is a self-drafted 3/4 sleeve tee made with dyed cotton jersey.DSC_5430

Cullottes seem to be one of those marmite items, but given how practical they are, I think I might love’em.

2 thoughts on “Cullottes and the dress that became an apron

  1. The number of times I have made a mistake with the shape of a dress, or the fabric choice. I did it again with a linen tent dress this week. The apron save is a good, and creative, one. And I love the culottes.

Leave a Reply

