London Sew Social 2016 and a Panda Cocoon dress

SEWSOCIAL
An image I designed for printing on a souvenir teatowel courtesy of Spoonflower

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of taking part in London Sew Social, a weekend of sharing, chatting, sight-seeing, eating and of course fabric shopping (although as I was in my home town I managed to resist temptation) with a host of inspiring sewing bloggers from around Europe.

DSC_5046

It was such a delight to meet all these women, and make new friends who, through a shared passion, felt at once like old friends. Their blogs include so many of my favourites and are all well worth looking through:

Annika from  Näh-connection (Germany) Gioia  Dotta Sews (Italy) Trine   Groovybaby and Mama (Denmark) Liesl from Oliver + S (USA, currently living in Spain) An Straight Grain and Eva  By Eva Maria (Belgium) Maartje Huisjeboompjeboefjes (The Netherlands)
Marta Do Guincho, Andreia  In a Manner of Sewing  and Ines  La Folie Sewing Booth  (from Portugal) Olu Needle and Ted, Maria  My Cozy Co, Laura Titchy Threads, and Victoria  As it Seams  (from the UK)

13198663_10208896491506940_530719397304007326_o

We also received some sponsored goodies (including the tea towel from Spoonflower mentioned above). We’ll be sharing some of these with readers in a blog tour and giveaway next month and I am really looking forward to sewing up new patterns and fabrics in the coming months.

DSC_5384

My first project was made using some lovely soft and stretchy panda sweatshirt fabric gifted by By Poppy. My youngest loved it, so I made it up into a simple dress (the fabric was busy enough) using the Cocoon Dress pattern by Groovy Mama and Baby. DSC_5536

I omitted the shoulder ruffles on this version in favour of simplicity but as it was such a quick and satisfying make that there are bound to be more to come, ruffles and all.DSC_5531

3 thoughts on “London Sew Social 2016 and a Panda Cocoon dress

Leave a Reply

