A Tip Top Dress

double layer tip top dress

This year I’ve been part of a team contributing blog posts/tutorials to Petit a Petit and Family but haven’t found time to make any of the designer’s patterns…until now…

double layer tip top dress back viewThe Tip Top dress and tunic is a flowy and loose fitting design with lots of options such as double sleeves, contrast panels, welt pockets, hem facings. I decided to make a double layered version using a white burnout cotton mix fabric with contrasting coral voile underneath. To keep the rest of the design simple I chose to make a version without panels or pockets, and used the lining fabric for binding the pleated neckline option. The keyhole opening fastens with elastic and a single button.tip top dressI made a size 4 for my 3 and 3/4 old as it was August before I got round to making it and I wanted to make sure it would still fit next year too. With the simpler version I chose to make, the dress came together quickly and the only bit which caused me difficulty was hemming the curved sleeves in such lightweight fabric. I cursed a fair bit and promised to buy myself a rolled hem foot, but managed to get a fairly neat finish in the end, just in time to make the most of the last of the summer sunshine.double layer tip top dress

6 thoughts on “A Tip Top Dress

  1. Such a lovely dress, Toya! Perfect for summer. The first time I made that dress, hemming the curved sleeves using double gauze gave me a fair bit of trouble as well — so I ended up lining the sleeves the second time I made it, heh heh.

Leave a Reply

