Republique de Chiffon Jackie (yes another) Jumpsuit

dsc_6646Having been (completely-out-of-character) organised sewing flower girl dresses for my daughters to wear to their uncle’s wedding months in advance I then got caught up with other things and left sewing my own outfit until the last minute. In honour of my newly discovered love of jumpsuits I decided to use the Jackie jumpsuit pattern by Republique du Chiffon with it’s double cap sleeves and buttoned V-back, and three days before leaving for the wedding took a trip up to Goldhawk Road to find some suitable fabric.I found it quite tricky to settle on something suitable – I felt the pattern would work better with a fabric with a bit of drape, but I also wanted something light and summery that would make an otherwise casual design feel a bit special. I fell in love with a beautifully textured light blue/grey silk but experience has taught me that I cannot possibly hope to attend a wedding in pale,single coloured clothes (especially silk ones!) when I’m taking small children with me and food will be served…

Finally I found a silk crepe de chine with a subtle Liberty print design (or just enough print to hide/disguise food that may or may not get dropped on me). The silk turned out to be a great choice as it is so cool and the weather for the wedding was very hot -40 degrees C!dsc_6662dsc_6639Silk is of course a total luxury – this one was good value at £15 a metre but still far too expensive for my usual lazy or impatient, no muslin approach to sewing.dsc_6637

I still couldn’t face anything but the idea of a wearable muslin though so sewed a practice version up in a lightweight brushed cotton/viscose print. I graded between a size 38 at the chest and waist and a 40 at the hips, and felt it didn’t really need any adjustment beyond that. The only snag with grading to a smaller waist size is that as there is no closure lower than the waist it is fairly tight to get on. The other thing I learnt during the first version was that the instructions for sewing the sleeves on were wrong, so instead of double cap sleeves I got double flutter sleeves – which I didn’t mind enough to change but inserted them the right way round on the silk version.dsc_6668dsc_6664

The photos of the first attempt were taken by my daughter, who may well need some more practice to perfect her photography skills! Although she does show some promise too…dsc_6729dsc_6733

4 thoughts on “Republique de Chiffon Jackie (yes another) Jumpsuit

  1. Oh wow, they are both so beautiful and suits you so well. What an amazing pattern and I love that you chose it for a wedding. I can’t help laughing at the reason for not wearing single colored silky clothes…so very true! LOL.

Leave a Reply

