Millie dress

DSC_1416

This lovely dress is made using a free pattern from Mix it Make it.

It is designed for knit fabrics and available in sizes 3-6 with minimal instructions, so more advisable for people with a little bit of previous sewing experience. It is, however, a fairly straightforward pattern. Gathering knits can be a little tricky -especially on a machine that seems to repel knit fabric but any problems are usually avoided by employing patience (not my best skill!).

DSC_1370

The size 4 fit this 4 year old perfectly- I added a couple of cm to the length as I could see from the pictures of other versions it was quite a short style and I wanted to allow for growing room especially as I knew a size 4 would be fairly generous on my daughter width-wise.

It is the first time I’ve made a neckline on a knit dress/top that just called for tucking the edge under and hemming and it felt a little like cheating, though worked out better than expected. When I make the dress again I may choose to bind the top edge though, as despite my best efforts all my hems on knits stretch out a little so there is the slightest tendency for the neckline to gape. I would also raise the neckline if making a winter version so that vests and under t-shirts weren’t visible.

The fabric is beautifully soft organic knit from Nosh Fabrics in an irregular spot design called PYRY and a colourway called Pheasant, which I would describe as terracotta pink/dusky apricot. The offcuts from this dress are going to be channelled into bra making -the results of which I’ll hopefully be able to share soon.

DSC_1431*This post is a collaboration with NoshDSC_1372

5 thoughts on “Millie dress

    1. Surely that’s possible – though I always think it helps if they get to help choose fabric (from a limited pre-selected by me choice!)

Leave a Reply

