Inespiration

ink illustration of ines

Today I’m joining a group of international sewists posting makes that are inspired by the  talented ray-of-sunshine that is Portuguese blogger Ines of La Folie Sewing Booth.nosh organics pencil skirt and tee with sointu sweater

Ines sews outfits for herself and two daughters and always makes good use of knit fabric, with a particular appreciation of Nosh Organics. She also lives in a much warmer climate than I do so I thought I’d make an outfit with fabrics I know she’d love but sew them up to suit a British winter (so I could actually wear them!!).

This year I’m making a concerted effort to make some clothes that will make me like winter dressing. I love the ease of putting on a dress or jumpsuit in summer, and love how I feel wearing them, but come wintertime I feel distinctly unenthusiastic about layers and trying to coordinate them while staying warm. To address this I’m trying to make clothes that I know will work together rather than just individual pieces that I like.

The Pencil Skirt

DSC_6174The pencil skirt is self drafted using the same pattern block as I did for my refashioners pencil skirt but reducing the size to create negative ease for a knit fabric. I also removed the back centre seam as there was no need for a zip and added elastic in the waistband.

The fabric is denim sweatshirting in dark green from Nosh. It has a nice weight and structure to it, so whilst being comfy to wear is not quite as unforgivingly clingy as most jersey fabrics.

I used the blind hem stitch on my machine for the first time which really made me wonder why I hadn’t before. I almost always sew a hem on a skirt or dress by hand but the blind-hem stitch was a nice compromise.

The 3/4-Sleeved Tee

top and pencil skirt in nosh organicsThe tee that shrank started life as a truly voluminous number from a pattern in a Japanese sewing book (which I used to make this top). However something about the volume combined with the lovely Suhasu print jersey (also in dark green and from Nosh) made me worry that if I stood still for too long in December people might start decorating me with tinsel. I kept the bateau neckline but cut the original sleeves out and replaced them after recutting the armscyes and body for a slimmer shape. As a result the arms ended up just slightly too tight resulting in a little pulling across the upper chest and arm but not enough to really bother me.

nosh organics pencil skirt and tee

The Turtleneck Tee

polo neck top and pencil skirt in nosh organics skirt in nosh organicsWhilst being a massive fan of 3/4 length sleeves, sometimes they’re not quite warm enough, so for those days I used the Hepburn Turtleneck pattern from Itch to Stitch to make another top, this time out of charcoal grey jersey, again from Nosh.

Using the measurements suggested on the pattern I graded between a size 4 at the chest and waist to a size 6 at the hips. I also added about an inch to the length. Next time I think a straight size 6 would be better.

The Sointu Kimono Tee

Sointu tee with pencil skirt

Cotton jersey might be comfy, but it isn’t always cosy enough, so for the last item to be mixed and matched I made a Sointu Kimono Tee by Named Clothing in a thick wool mix sweater knit from Simply Fabrics.DSC_6145Its a simple pattern so was another quick sew. I used the overlocker for all the seams and a walking foot on my sewing machine for the hemline and neckline for which I used black jersey for binding.

If you want to see what others have made on this day of Inespiration have a look at:

 
All Nosh fabrics used if the post were kindly gifted.
11 thoughts on “Inespiration

  1. I agree with Tone! You’ve made such a wonderful set of coordinating clothes for the winter! I love the idea that they will make dressing for winter much easier, and I might have to borrow that idea for myself… 😉

  2. Wow, you made so much and it’s all SO good. I can’t wait to make my Sointu now. And I’m still chuckling over your worry about being decorated as a christmas tree hahahaha. I guess you got the perfect fabric in case that will ever be a dress up wish from your daughters 😉

  3. You made me laugh out loud with your decorating with tinsel comment. Brilliant mix and match outfits you created, I need to do more ‘making clothes that work together’ rather than individual garments. I always seem to get sidetracked into just making what I love.

  4. So many beautiful clothes! I should start planning my sewing this way. Well, planning my sewing instead of making according to my mood would already be a major step 😉 ah ah ah

    1. I think this is the first time I’ve managed it – it’s very hard not just to be motived by creative whims but I am making a concerted effort to strike a balance!

Leave a Reply

