The Vogue 9253

Vogue 9253 in atelier brunette moonstone viscose with added buttonsLike for so many others, this pattern has stolen my heart.

Especially when made up in luxurious Moonstone in blue viscose from Atelier Brunette (bought at Fabric Godmother), which proved to be buttery soft and delightfully swishy…

Vogue 9253 in atelier brunette moonstone viscose with added buttonsI had a clear idea of the adjustments I wanted to make, and number one was to gather the sleeves slightly and finished with a bound edge.

Number two was to sew up some of that deep V (otherwise I’d never have worn the dress). Instead of just sewing it up straight, I made a faux button closure by sewing rouleau loops into the seam and then attaching some self covered buttons. I was hoping these changes would give the dress a bit more of a 70’s feel.

Vogue 9253 in atelier brunette moonstone viscose with added buttonsI made a straight medium size without any other alterations and was happy with how the size turn out in this fabric. That said, in a stiffer fabric I’d probably want it to fit a little snugger at the empire waistline. In this version the invisible zipper proved entirely unnecessary as I can easily take the whole thing off without using it.Vogue 9253 in atelier brunette moonstone viscose with added buttonsOverall a winner though, and one that I know I will wear all the time while the weather allows.

Special credit has to be given to my eldest whose photography skills have now surpassed my own…

8 thoughts on “The Vogue 9253

  1. Looks amazing – one of my favourite fabrics of all time (I have a Sew Over It Penny dress in it)!! I have Vogue 9253 cut out and ready to go (as soon as I get around to re-threading my machines in the right colour) and was contemplating how to make the V more wearable. Your idea is just perfect!! I may be a copy cat 🙂

    1. They often say about copying – don’t borrow, steal! So I think if you love the idea, take it and make it your own. And as to the fabric I love it so much – I bought it with a voucher I won as part of last years refashioners prize but think I might have to invest in some in the pink colourway too!

  2. The adjustments are great. Might have to copy that gathered sleeve. Toya, it’s a beauty – absolutely one of the best versions of this dress I’ve seen. You look stunning and very 70’s-ish.

  3. Like everyone else has said, your adjustments are my favorite parts of your dress! I have a major love for that style of sleeve, and your buttons and loops are so perfect. And of course it looks fantastic on you. =)

Leave a comment